Thread: Noob question - Best place to source Genuine parts?

1. Default Noob question - Best place to source Genuine parts?

Hi Guys, i'm new to Audi's and new to the forum. I just purchased a 2011 Q7 TDI with 120,000km on it. Quite happy with it overall, however it does have a leaking rear main (I knew about it when I purchased it and got a substantial discount as a result). As a result I will be doing some substantial maintenance on it in the near future including: Rear main, timing chain tensioner, and other other seals in the area. I'm quite capable of doing all this myself and not paying the huge workshop fees to undertake the work, however I am finding it hard to settle on a source for reasonably priced genuine or aftermarket parts.
    A google search around doesn't appear to yield anything in the way of engine parts suppliers down under, and the international ones seem to vary substantially in what they sell and the prices, and I haven't been able to find any threads already on here on the subject.

Can the experience Audi folk here recommend both Australian and International suppliers? I live in Far Nth QLD and do have a dealership nearby, but not surprisingly the OEM prices make my eyes water and I would prefer not to have to pay them if I can plan ahead and order them from afar.

Thanks in advance guys.

If you are up to wrenching (as the yanks say) then your best investment will be an Audi parts book for your model in one form or another. From that you can input the part number directly into your search engine and get some indications of source. Many seals etc are just brand name parts and you can order them from any bearing supplier. Inputting an Audi part number can also throw up a number of Australian suppliers that you may not know of. There are a ton of US based suppliers, UK and Euro too. My recent experience is that I've purchased locally cheaper to my door than from any OS supplier, but only on some parts.